Page 1 of 1

For those wanting manual beat slicing in Guru V2

Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:50 am
by keyman_sam
Wave Surgeon is a free tool for windows that'll slice your beats, automatically or manually, just like ReCycle.

The cool thing is that it supports drag and drop easily. So here's the idea :
1). You take a wave file from guru's pads, drop it into WS (wavesurgeon).
2). Slice it in WS. It's as fast as ReCycle, if not faster. Save the slices in a folder in desktop.
3). Drop the slices into GURU from the desktop. The convenient thing is that WS gives you a fullscreen view of what you're doing and its very very fast and simple to work with.


Here's the ONLY problem that prevents us from doing 1). in one step. GURU apparently gives you the relative path when you drag and drop. If you give the absolute path of the pads when dragging OUT of GURU this problem should be solved. Please Angus, fix this drag and drop thingy!!

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:36 pm
by bobbybland
8)

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:03 pm
by vxkid
I still don't get it!! You can manually slice in GURU perfectly well.... are ya'll just missing the fact that you can set start and end points or are you talking about something totally different? The constant request for a feature thats already there is driving me bats.

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:35 pm
by bobbybland
No I think your missing the point of the request here.What the request is asking is > a one screen to chop and send to the chops to the pads,not chopping samples on multiple pads chasing the diffrerent chops as it works now.I'm not sure why you are having a problem understanding this,sure the way it works now can work technically and if you like it like this then by all means.But some of us would like to see a better workflow for this,and this has been talked about for years here.Some of us use other samplers that currently do this and would love Guru to do this as it would eliminate installing or using multiple apps for a simple procedure.
I hope that clears this up for you and any other person that doesn't understand the request.The good thing is FxPansion understands the request and now we wait to see what will happen.

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:13 pm
by vxkid
i'd like to see guru 2 have a gps. Hopefully they'll respond to that.

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 pm
by bobbybland
vxkid wrote:i'd like to see guru 2 have a gps. Hopefully they'll respond to that.


Gps huh? Are you lost on your direction at all in your music ability? Since this is a forum and some users are requesting a feature you don't personally want or need you try sarcasm to justify your lack of understanding the request. Thats a bit tainted in your approach don't ya think? Hey vxkid there's a simple solution for you . Stay on the current version and you won't have to worry about it.There's a whole room full of us here that will welcome such a feature and some who will not.The great thing about computers is YOU can decide not to install the app if you do not want a certain feature. :wink: Have fun and I hope the Gps thing works out for you.

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:41 am
by keyman_sam
vxkid wrote:I still don't get it!! You can manually slice in GURU perfectly well.... are ya'll just missing the fact that you can set start and end points or are you talking about something totally different? The constant request for a feature thats already there is driving me bats.

No one's missing the fact that you can move the start/end points around.

Download Shortcircuit VST (free sampler) and look at how you can MANUALLY slice beats by clicking on ALT + left click on wherever you want. It also sticks to zero crossing so you get the perfect slice. In addition, you can move the end points for the perfect length.

That's 10x faster and easier than moving sample start points around.

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:24 am
by dcupmusic
I cant agree more in this topic.

I use pHatmatik by izotope. You can view the 'whole' waveform and see the various slices light up when triggered by a midi note. You can then add or delete slices with a mouse click, and adjust them by sliding the slice marker around.

I guess Guru would be limited to 16 slices per engine, unless they found a tricky way to include more, but it really was a feature I expected to be in the software when the slogan on the box was "sequence, slice, mix"

Can anyone at Guru confirm this feature in an update?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:41 pm
by db120
Start / end point adjustments have always felt fiddly to me, the export idea would be a HUGE timesaver.
x10

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:10 am
by dredd i knight
+1
its gotta be in the update.
fx knows how much this feature is wanted, even necessary what with bpm etc having slicing.
i'm just wondering WHEN its gonna hit; all these free updates are great 'n all, but its in serious need of a major rehash now...
i'm a patient man, but the sound of silence is beginning to wear that out...

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:27 am
by dcupmusic
yeah Dredd

listen to your fans fxpansion.

BTW, i got motu bpm expecting similar slicing function to pHatmatik and I was let down.
You can only import pre-sliced material like rex or apple loops.
You can manually slice a loop from the pad edit window, by highlighting sections of a phrase and dragging to a pad.
Or you can slice by transient with auto detect, and then auto map slices to pads. But no manual adjust of slices.
So your pretty restricted to drum loops. Which i barely ever put through a slicer. Big disappointment.

You would have thought with the growth of the indie disco and glitchy bassline house genres that a developer would step up to the plate and make a simple fast slicer with some cool warped out fx and modulations, but i guess these producers arent buying enough software to make it attractive. This is where Warez bites us back.
Still the best for my style is pHatmatik, which looks like its no longer being developed by iZotope.

Ive changed to sampler in Live. Its still a little more fiddly than pHat if you want to add more slices later, but you can use live to edit your phrase and "slice to one sampler" straight away. This takes out the pain in the ass step of rendering the selected phrase, then finding the phrase in pHat's shitty browser, plus its got more routability.

Anyone else got any random VST's they prefer for slice sampling?

Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:46 pm
by jkswopes
dcupmusic, have you tried shortcircuit? I believe it can do the manual chopping thing...it's a free sampler though no longer being supported either lol.

I can't wait to see what the new version of GURU looks like and I'm sure it will have this feature in it.

I've always liked phatmatik as a slicer, but the browser like you said is shifty lol.

Image-line's edision plugin looks like the best vst for the job, I've only played with it a little bit.