Arranging Songs - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Arranging Songs

Support for GURU

Moderators: Drew_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, Moderators

blicciardi

Arranging Songs

Postby blicciardi » Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:58 pm

hi everyone,

i'm new to guru and loving it, but i'm running into a really fundamental problem: arranging a song is really cumbersome! i'd like to create a group of scenes and order them. for example, play part A twice, then go to part B, then back to A, then to C. something like that.

right now, i'm using cubase as a host, running guru as a vst and using a midi track to trigger scene changes in guru. it works, but its a pretty clunky way to arrange a song. if i'm messing around with a song structure and want to add an extra measure or two in the middle of a song, this method involves a bunch cutting, pasting and lining up midi notes just so.

i feel like i must be doing something wrong, that there must be an easier way. ideally, i'd like some sort of graphical interface where i could move/add parts. any ideas?

seems like such an elemental problem...what's the point of creating all these cool beats if you can't arrange them into a song?!

thanks for any help!
ben

Gridden

Postby Gridden » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:40 pm

It's my number one complaint with GURU, it's always felt like a creativity killer trying to arrange the song. It's just a pain up the ass fiddling around with piano rolls, remembering which scene/pattern it which part of the song etc. And yes, then changing the song's arrangement becomes a nightmare.
Angus had talked of an arranging feature being added in 1.5 but I get the feeling it's unlikely to appear in the near future.

blicciardi

Postby blicciardi » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:26 pm