MIDI CLOCK Follow Up repost - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

MIDI CLOCK Follow Up repost

Support for GURU

Moderators: Drew_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, Moderators

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

MIDI CLOCK Follow Up repost

Postby ed_moliano » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:58 am

Hello There Guys
Could you please help me with my Midi Clock problem? You stopped replying to my posts on the matter so I have pasted it all below and reposted as a new topic. My KP3 is definitely sending midi clock (my midi monitor utility has confirmed as such) and Guru Standalone recognises it as a midi device. Is there anything that would override the clock in Guru? Thanks in advance.

PREVIOUS POSTS
Aye up
Forgive me if this is a naive question. Is there a way to get Guru's tempo to be dictated by an external device? I want to send the timecode from a Korg kaoss pad 3 to the Standalone version of Guru. I'm using a macbook 1.83 core2duo with 2gb of RAM and Snow Leopard.
Thanks in advance Mark
18 Feb 2010 19:19

Angus_FX Herder of Cats
Guru responds to MIDI Clock if you select "Sync to MTC" in the standalone. The option is wrongly named - it's actually MIDI Clock it slaves to, not MIDI Time Code.
19 Feb 2010 10:25

ed_moliano: mtc reply
um, I’ve got a kaoss pad 3 that has is set to transmit internal clock and guru has the sync mtc checked and recognises the KP3 in the midi ports menu but still is not responding to any tempo information. Have I missed something?
20 Feb 2010 16:55

Angus_FX Herder of Cats
Not sure - do you have any midi monitor on your computer that would let you confirm that the clock is being transmitted?
21 Feb 2010 10:05

ed_moliano
Monitor
Yes I’ve got a midi monitor utility and it says that midi clock data is constantly being transmitted. Is there any options that would override the tempo information other than the ignore host transport check box?

21 Feb 2010 13:48
ed_moliano
Hi again,
just wondering if you guys had any more thoughts on the tempo send problem: I really am at lose and love using guru standalone live but have been using it sans midi and really want to push its capabilities. Thanks again.

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:26 pm

Hey ed,

In theory all you need is to have your midi port and 'Sync to MTC' enabled (which IS incorrectly labelled. It responds to midi clock). I've just tested it here and it works fine using Guru 1.6.12 on OSX. Do you have any other sources of midi clock you could try, just to check it's not the KP3's clock thats the problem?

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:23 pm

Hi, thanks for getting back to me. I've got a midi monitor utility and it says it's receiving midi clock from the KP3. i dont actually have another external device that sends midi clock to check though. is there any other options which might impede this working? The midi port is set to KP3 and the mtc to sync. Am i correct in thinking that if working Guru should respond to real time bpm change info?

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:26 pm

Yeah, all your settings are correct. Guru should start and stop when you send start/stop messages from the KP3, and it should follow tempo. You are using Guru 1.6.12 right?

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:36 pm

I am indeed using Guru 1.6.12 on intel Macbook with Snow leopard. I am very much at a loss with this as it seems as though it should be working.

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:39 pm

Can you paste the log from your midi monitor utility. Specifically I'm curious to know if the KP3 is sending Start/Stop and Continue messages correctly.

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:58 pm

i've not got it infront of me now. will send over this evening. Thanks very much for le support.

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Mon Mar 29, 2010 4:45 pm

hi again, i've attached a screen grab of my midi monitor with kp3 attached. Clock appears to be being sent?
Attachments
midi clock kp3.jpg
midi clock kp3.jpg (245.13 KiB) Viewed 8820 times

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:16 pm

Certainly looks like. Does it send out Start or Continue messages when you first hit 'play' on the KP3?

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Mon Mar 29, 2010 6:46 pm

it sends continuous. i have a korg ms2000 and it controls the tempo of the arpeggiator via midi clock. the midi clock isn't on a specific channel on guru is it?

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Mar 29, 2010 6:51 pm

Hmm, I've never come across a device that only sends the clock pulses and not the start/stop/continue. I suspect that's the issue though. Angus will have to chime in on exactly how the clock slave works in Guru, but maybe it doesn't process clock until it receives a Start command.

Guru should respond to clock on all channels.

ed_moliano
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby ed_moliano » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:49 am

i've jsut read a Korg forum post were by you can assign start, stop continue controls to the KP3. I will have a go at this later and let you know if this the fault. Thanks again for your dilligent support.


Return to “GURU”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest