Can you map the Pads to a midi controller like the Akai APC40? - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Can you map the Pads to a midi controller like the Akai APC40?

Support for GURU

Moderators: Drew_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, Moderators

jcharnis
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:34 am

Can you map the Pads to a midi controller like the Akai APC40?

Postby jcharnis » Tue May 18, 2010 7:44 pm

Would really love it if its possible. So, is it? :)

jcharnis
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:34 am

Postby jcharnis » Wed May 19, 2010 5:38 pm

let me clarify since I am not asking a noob question. I read in the manual that starting in Guru 1.5 MIDI learn was disabled on the PADS. So how would I map the pads individually to a midi controller? I really really hope this is possible. Been supporting Guru very early for all my releases and do NOT want to switch over to Maschine. I need the live feel though for creativity. Please somebody help me?

PrimoChris
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 12:59 pm

Postby PrimoChris » Thu May 20, 2010 9:53 am

You need to map your controller according to GURU´s midi implementation.

jcharnis
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:34 am

Postby jcharnis » Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:28 pm

I actually tried to map Guru using Cubase' generic remote. In the dropdown for list of possible source mappings however, I did not see the Midi mappings for the pads. :(

fabianseip@gmail.com
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 2:43 pm

Postby fabianseip@gmail.com » Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:53 am

you need to "program" your hardware to send the correct midi channel and notes. that should work with apc, maybe there is an editor program to make that easier. otherwise, you can use midi input transformer in cubase or a midi vst to do that.

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:47 am

Guru's midi implementation is fixed, which means that the pads, and in fact all the controls, have a fixed midi message that they will respond to. In order to get a midi controller to control Guru you need edit the controller itself. This is pretty easy with most controllers. Unfortunately the APC40 is designed only to work with Ableton Live, it is not really a 'generic' controller so there is no way to reprogram what messages it sends.

tob_krueger
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 3:01 pm

Postby tob_krueger » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:09 pm

I began to write a templat for the APC 40 for guru
It works fine eight channels, mute, solo volume.
The matrix of the apc has 16 pads for the current engine.
You can change from pattern to opptions.
The browser is on board, but there i had the first problem.
I work with bomes midi translator, but there the hexadezimal code just go to C2 and for folder up you need G#1.
In ableton life it works with colors, but in the standalone version there are none.
I think i need somebody you can translate it in java or something like that.
But the apc is perfect.
Tomorrow or today i will bring the direkt and the sends on the encoder.
If i known bome´s miditranslator befor, i haven´t bought maschine. But the maschine is pretty cool too for to programmed. At the end bome´s and maschine-controller together, i didn´t tried yet.
But for my setup in ableton i need both controller...
One thing there is at guru i missed, to controll the parameter of the effects for send and engines.
Don´t change to geist or maschine guru is super and pretty fast, unschlagbar.
Here are my templates:
Attachments
Maschine_template_guru_ableton.zip
(19.37 KiB) Downloaded 369 times

tob_krueger
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 3:01 pm

guru template for apc 40

Postby tob_krueger » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:34 pm

Here is the file for bome´s midi translater. you have to download the demo version of bome´s 1.7 or you buy the pro version.
If you want to write it yourself you can choose the classic version too, but at the pro there are more possibilitis.

For too see the matrix you have to work with guru in ableton.
I have a template for the apc 40 called apc_64_ 40, pretty cool with a step sequenzer in it and more...you find it with google.
I rewrited the usermode 2 in the matrix_maps.py as followed:

#---------- Page 4 is User Mode 2

USE_STOP_ROW_2 = True
IS_NOTE_MODE_2 = True

PATTERN_2 = ((3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3), #Row 1
(5, 5, 5, 5, 1, 5, 1, 5), #Row 2
(1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 1, 3), #Row 3
(1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0), #Row 4
(1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0), #Row 5
(1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0), #Clip Stop Row
) #0=off, 1=green, 2=green blink, 3=red, 4=red blink, 5=yellow, 6=yellow blink, 7-127=green

CHANNEL_2 = 10

NOTEMAP_2 = ((10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17), #Row 1
(18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25), #Row 2
(48, 49, 50, 51, 80, 81, 82, 83), #Row 3
(44, 45, 46, 47, 72, 73, 74, 75), #Row 4
(40, 41, 42, 43, 26, 27, 28, 29), #Row 5
(36, 37, 38, 39, 30, 31, 32, 33), #Clip Stop Row
)

you get to the guru mode when you choose page 4. there you get when you press shift and "select channel 4"
Attachments
bome´s_guru_apc40.zip
press shift+channel 4 for to change too guru template
(1.69 KiB) Downloaded 1025 times


Return to “GURU”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest