Geist hardware controller maps - Page 3 - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Geist hardware controller maps

Support for Geist

Moderators: Drew_BFDTeam, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, Moderators

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:45 pm

Peejosity - the MPD32 works very nicely overall. Great fun being able to switch engines from the buttons and jam on the pads. I'd assume the other MPDs work well too, but the more controls the better, imo ;)

Although, wondering what you meant by "works out of the box perfectly with send and receives like the launchpad does in ableton"?
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32

Music
http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip

Circuit Bent Madness
http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

peejosity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:17 am

Postby peejosity » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:21 pm

Kickflip wrote:Peejosity - the MPD32 works very nicely overall. Great fun being able to switch engines from the buttons and jam on the pads. I'd assume the other MPDs work well too, but the more controls the better, imo ;)

Although, wondering what you meant by "works out of the box perfectly with send and receives like the launchpad does in ableton"?


Hey, I ordered a Launchpad from Amazon, waiting for it to arrive. What i meant was, the Launchpad has a "map" that works fine in Ableton when you plug it in. No mapping required. Most of the devices do already, as they're supported in Ableton already. The sends/receives I'm referring to is when you trigger something with the launchpad it turns a light on, and when something is finished etc, the software sends messages to the launchpad telling it to turn the light off or changes it's colour etc... so basically they work hand in hand. Wasn't sure if once you setup these devices within Geist if it worked the same... as in Geist informs the controller things which gives you visuals on things changing etc.

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:33 pm

Ah I see... yeah was wondering if you meant that but not sure! Basically, there's not that much in the way of controller feedback on the MPD32 anyway, so it won't be much of a problem ;)

There's only really the 8 buttons along the top that could give feedback, I don't think they do, but I mainly use them for switching engines. Now you've brought it up though, an improved MPD32 with motorised faders and LED rings would be pretty awesome.
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32



Music

http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip



Circuit Bent Madness

http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

peejosity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:17 am

Postby peejosity » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:41 pm

Kickflip wrote:Ah I see... yeah was wondering if you meant that but not sure! Basically, there's not that much in the way of controller feedback on the MPD32 anyway, so it won't be much of a problem ;)

There's only really the 8 buttons along the top that could give feedback, I don't think they do, but I mainly use them for switching engines. Now you've brought it up though, an improved MPD32 with motorised faders and LED rings would be pretty awesome.


Heheh, well I've got a Launchpad incoming from Amazon, will probably be here in 3 weeks (cheap freight > expensive freight), so I'll see how I go. I should figure out if i can make my crappy old Roland XP-10 work with geist until it arrives :)

marczwan
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 3:01 pm

Trigger Finger map

Postby marczwan » Wed Nov 16, 2011 3:26 pm

Just bought Geist and wondered if there was a Trigger Finger map actually made?

Crone1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:58 am

Postby Crone1 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:40 am

pornophonica wrote:Any chance of a MPD24 map?
Or can I just use the 26 one?
Thanks :D


Anyone?

peejosity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:17 am

Postby peejosity » Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:37 am

i bit the bullet and bought a Maschine and now use the software it came with instead now. Haven't used Geist for a while unfortunately :(

Oh well.

buildlust
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:00 am

Postby buildlust » Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:10 pm

peejosity wrote:i bit the bullet and bought a Maschine and now use the software it came with instead now. Haven't used Geist for a while unfortunately :(

Oh well.

I feel ya! I had Maschine since it came out and I use it extensively, but I saw a video of Geist and the sample slicing and pad feature and thought ill give it a try. To be honest the sampling and slicing feature in Geist is better than Maschines, for me at least, but trying to get Geist to do what you want to do, mainly controlling engines without mapping and all that extensive midi (not user friendly imo) and trying to bounce individual audio files without all this assigning outs. I may rather stick with maschines usability and wait until NI makes their sampling on par with Geist. Also this forum is zombiefied.....sheesh.

peejosity
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:17 am

Postby peejosity » Sun Jan 01, 2012 1:29 pm

buildlust wrote:
peejosity wrote:i bit the bullet and bought a Maschine and now use the software it came with instead now. Haven't used Geist for a while unfortunately :(

Oh well.

I feel ya! I had Maschine since it came out and I use it extensively, but I saw a video of Geist and the sample slicing and pad feature and thought ill give it a try. To be honest the sampling and slicing feature in Geist is better than Maschines, for me at least, but trying to get Geist to do what you want to do, mainly controlling engines without mapping and all that extensive midi (not user friendly imo) and trying to bounce individual audio files without all this assigning outs. I may rather stick with maschines usability and wait until NI makes their sampling on par with Geist. Also this forum is zombiefied.....sheesh.


Hey,

Yeah, I'm at the point where I might uninstall Geist completely. It's just too difficult to get it to the same point as NI for example in the friendly side. I mean I already spent money buying it, and then the launchpad, only to find I can't use them together... $$$ down the drain :(

At least my DCAM is still put to some use, unfortunately I can't say the same for BFD :(

-Peej-

User avatar
Paul_fx
Righteous Drum Lord
Posts: 1440
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:56 pm

Postby Paul_fx » Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:22 pm

buildlust wrote:Also this forum is zombiefied.....sheesh.


Its xmas and new years - people have holidays / families etc. If you have an actual support question, email support and they will help you.
Re buying launchpad and expecting it to work, i dont remember us ever saying that we support bi directional communication with launchpad, nor do i know of any other plugin that support launchpad in that way besides Abelton Live, who incidentally have very close connections with Focusrite / novation. (and also to point out, this is what Novation market it as… its not a general MIDI compatible controller in terms of the bidirectional control - this requires the use of the specific API for the launchpad.)

If you prefer maschine, great, go make some music with it :D

Happy new year
-Paul

buildlust
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:00 am

Postby buildlust » Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:51 pm

Paul_fx wrote:
buildlust wrote:Also this forum is zombiefied.....sheesh.



If you prefer maschine, great, go make some music with it :D

Happy new year
-Paul

Truthfully this place is a Geist town.....:-)
All jokes aside I actually enjoy sample chopping with Geist and will continue to make great music with Geist in the Maschine!

Happy New Year

kryptonitejesus
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:40 am

Postby kryptonitejesus » Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:23 pm

What would be the best way to get my MPK61 mapped out so I can control all the different engines and banks from my hardware alone... as of now if I want to use multiple engines I have to cut and paste all from engine 1 :/

funtez
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:07 pm

Postby funtez » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:08 pm

Could anyone possibly help with a Geist controller map for my DSi Tempest!? I'm using the tempest a lot and has taken prime position in my workspace and would love to be able to use the tempests pads for Geist re-sampling but I'm not ultra midi savvy and not sure how to make this happen, anyone have a map!??

boost303
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:13 pm

Postby boost303 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:28 am

Im trying to get the mpd32 controllermap working, but i seem to be missing something.

I have loaded the preset in Geist and have loaded the mpdpreset in the mpd, i am using ableton 8.28 as a host.

It says in the readmefile that i have to select the mpd as a midisource in Geist and that i can find the info in the manual. Maybe im too tired now but i cant seem to find it in the manual. Does anyone know how to do this so i can get the controllermap working?

Thanks in advance

boost303
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:13 pm

Postby boost303 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:06 pm

anyone?


Return to “Geist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests