Feature Requests for Geist - Page 21 - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Feature Requests for Geist

Support for Geist

Moderators: Drew_BFDTeam, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Moderators

epiphaneia
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:14 pm

i´ll give it another shot: resizable GUI

Postby epiphaneia » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:52 am

... pretty please, or at least 2-3 alternate GUI sizes to choose from if that´s easier to implement, it´s just quite uncomfortable to edit and despite the fact that I love using Geist, I always feel my songs could benefit from finer edits which I can´t be bothered to do as it´s too tedious 8)

Any chance there´s going to be a 1280 or 1600 size any time soon? (Not, "maybe but who knows, we´ll keep it on the list of requested features"? :D ) I´ll even pay for an upgrade including only this one feature.

Best
Marc

jalcide
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:04 am

Postby jalcide » Fri May 03, 2013 7:54 pm

Option for MIDI Program Change to be used for switching patterns.

It's really annoying to not be able to enjoy the MIDI "chase" features of a DAW -- jump to some random position in the song and it's always the wrong pattern playing.

Of course notes are not "chase-able" for obvious reasons. This is why Program Change events used to be the standard for this, but in recent times, a notes-only approach is fashionable. Both, approaches, please!

I just want to go on record as saying Geist is the perfect balance between simplicity and features. It's the DAW's missing link I didn't know existed.

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Fri May 03, 2013 8:12 pm

I trigger patterns in gated mode using 1 bar regions containing a run of 16th notes, and the pitch them in Logic's arrange page with the MIDI transpose to choose patterns. This way, it'll almost instantly switch to the right pattern, or if you're in a breakdown, not play anything at all :)
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32

Music
http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip

Circuit Bent Madness
http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

jalcide
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:04 am

Postby jalcide » Fri May 10, 2013 2:34 am

Kickflip wrote:I trigger patterns in gated mode using 1 bar regions containing a run of 16th notes, and the pitch them in Logic's arrange page with the MIDI transpose to choose patterns. This way, it'll almost instantly switch to the right pattern, or if you're in a breakdown, not play anything at all :)


Interesting approach, Kickflip. Thanks for sharing.

I just tried this and it seems really fussy, but the main thing is that it's playing out-of-sync now. the first bar of all my multi-bar patterns won't play. it starts on bar two of them.

very strange.

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Fri May 10, 2013 5:11 am

Does the first bar play if you keep the sequencer rolling? My instinct would be to say that you've probably not got the patterns lined up in the DAW's sequencer, as Geist's playback takes the host's song position into account. Also, I presume you mean bars, but if you mean beats, then there used to be a problem with that, but was sorted in an update a while back, so make sure you're running the latest version!
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32



Music

http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip



Circuit Bent Madness

http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Fri May 10, 2013 5:22 am

Kickflip wrote:Geist's playback takes the host's song position into account

I can't remember if I've requested this one already or not, but I'd really like to be able to send a control note to 'reset' the pattern pointer to the start. If I've got a bunch of patterns that are 4 bars long, everything plays fine unless I throw in one of those random one bar fills (for example, at the end of a big breakdown instead of dropping straight into the groove again, inserting an extra bar to tease the crowd a bit more), then it'll throws everything out by one bar, and I end up having to copy all the patterns to some empty patterns, and offset all of those by a bar. Being able to send a 'bar reset' control signal into Geist would make it easier to mix up my arrangements while keeping the advantages of triggering everything by those runs of 16th notes.
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32



Music

http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip



Circuit Bent Madness

http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

jbrown3
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:45 pm

Postby jbrown3 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:34 am

jbrown3 wrote:Since I haven't bought Geist yet, I think that I may have been overlooked for my feature request in another post. So I am putting it here in hopes that these requests show up in a future release.

1) I need to be able to know what kits are currently loaded on any given engine.

2) I need to be able to see the pad information (e.g. path name and sample name) when I right click on any pad (like in guru). In the case where pads have layers, at least let me see the path name and sample of where the samples came from on each layer somehow.

Options 1) and 2) are needed because I rely on trying to build congruent/similar songs for given projects/albums, meaning that if I have a theme for an album, and I want to have the same song,vibe,similar instrumentation, it would be much easier to know what my building blocks are or were on the previous song made. Having to spend minutes upon minutes just to trying to answer, "Now what kit was used for this engine? I want to use that one again on this next track" is not productive at all. GURU gave me this as a minimum. Hence the reason I have not upgraded.

I understand that you guys may be fighting for GUI real estate on the Geist interface, but maybe you can at least show what I need in tooltips popups when I hold my mouse over stuff. Or at least when I right mouse click on a pad/engine/etc, add something to the menu list that will provide this info (e.g. "Get pad sample info"; "Get engine kit info".

3) Even though the Geist slicing is supposed to be robust and all, still give the user this special option of dragging and dropping multiple samples that are external to the Geist simultaneously to all 16 pads of Geist in the following special case like I saw in this video example. Look starting at time 4:50 thru 5:22 in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/user/foodclothes ... wUW_1irCa4



Peace,
JB


Have any of these issues/features been added yet? I've been dormant using Geist for years, still waiting on this? :?:

iiuuii
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:06 pm

Postby iiuuii » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:32 am

keyboard cursors to navigate the browser.

that users should have to request it is lame. this is rock bottom level interface design.
save us all a couplea hundred squinting points & clicks a day, by fixing the browser. its broken.

monk_volcano
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:21 pm

Postby monk_volcano » Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:26 am

I accidentally posted this in the wrong thread so I'm pasting it here:


Hey guys.. just a couple of request.


Mapping velocity to multiple parameters GREATLY enhances the organic qualities of a drum sound.. it seems like a serious omission in my mind.

Also, not being able to automate the amp envelopes is a real bummer. .. I have to hav that for my hats!


Thanks for your time.

iiuuii
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:06 pm

Geist GUI improvements

Postby iiuuii » Sun Aug 04, 2013 9:02 pm

The GUI suffers from clutter, which in turn bogs down the workflow.
I was pulled over to Geist from Motu BPM (due to it's lack of development), but in comparison to BPM interface, Geist would benefit hugely from some focus & minimalism.

One aspect of this, is forcing the user to navigate more pages than is necessary. The layer mixing page could be entirely removed. Pull out the gain / pan / send box from the 'Pad/Layers' page, and replace it with a horizontal extension of each layer tab, with rotary knobs for level, pan, and sends* - this would give an overview of all layer mix states from within the 'Pad/Layer window'. The repetition of the sends on the 'Layer Mixer' state is just unnecessary, as is having an unnecessary pre-fader 'Gain' volume on the 'Pad/Layer' page before the 'Layer Mixer' volume fader. We have too many faders here. It's more intuitive to mix layers while editing them - these are not separate activities. That would only leave the 'effects' edit panel of the 'Layer Mixer' page, which could be easily brought into the 'Pad/Layer' page by a means of an effects panel toggle button on either the top fader/knob panel or the waveform panel.

A lot of real estate on the 'Pad/Layer' page is being eaten up by overly large knobs and especially borders (see: right most 'amp env visible' panel, and the dark grey border surrounding the whole page) . There's plenty of potential space to implement the changes.

To be clear, it's not concerning aesthetics - although that matters hugely. It's about speeding up workflow.

( * layer sends themselves are a little superfluous tbh)

Thanks!

edit:
Surely the 'Global Mixer' & 'Engine Mixer' pages be consolidated into one, too.
A fourth 'Master' tab on the left of the 'Engine Mixer' page would switch the fader & effects panels to exactly what the 'Global Mixer' page does now. This could potentially be extended to cover the Pad Mixer too. With two (even three?) superfluous pages removed from the front interface, imagine how much cleaner the GUI would be.

(You could consider shunting the 'Scene' & 'Song' tabs to the far right, away from the main action. Fewer users use these.)
Last edited by iiuuii on Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.

iiuuii
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:06 pm

True amp envelope lock (including hold parameter) & envelope mode toggle

Postby iiuuii » Sun Aug 04, 2013 9:23 pm

• True envelope lock for reasons outlined here http://www.fxpansion.com/forum/viewtopi ... 7657#87657

• Envelope mode toggle between 'traditional' ADSR faders and graphic nodes. For reasons outlined in the same thread above. When toggled on, a compact ADSR/AHR fader panel could appear on the right hand side of the waveform panel.

iiuuii
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:06 pm

'Global' tune mode

Postby iiuuii » Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:08 pm

'Pad/Layer' page:
Having to chose between two separate knobs for musical semitones & fine tuning doesn't make intuitive sense for a drum machine, when drums are, for the most part, inherently inharmonic. And operationally, it's clunky having to continually flick back & forth between two knobs, just to tune a drum part.

The Tune knob could be made to cover ignore semitone steps, to cover all fine tunings over a two octave range.

A shift modifier on the 'Tune' knob would cause the 'Fine' knob to rotate between the fine cent tunings between the semitones steps within the Tune knob, as the Tune knob progressed through each semitone. No more needing to operate in steps of 12 semitones or flick around knobs when tuning drums up and down. Would speed up workflow. MotuBPM achieved this (less elegantly) with a third 'global' tune knob.

emef
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:00 pm
Location: blackpool, england
Contact:

Postby emef » Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:37 am

as well as being a top drum machine, i use geist to sequence other instruments because it's so quick and easy, it would be great to have access to more than 16 notes in the sequencers

domlap21
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:38 am

Endless Rotary Knobs/Encoders

Postby domlap21 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 5:33 am

Please add support for endless dial support, i.e. 2's complement, Signed Bit, Binary offset, or other. That way parameters won't jump so much when using controller knobs.

pornophonica
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:33 am

Postby pornophonica » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:41 pm

This is a way out request but in standalone mode adding vst/au support would be astronomical. Geist would become my main production tool :)


Return to “Geist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 11 guests