Using Geist and Midi Controller - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Using Geist and Midi Controller

Support for Geist

Moderators: Drew_fx, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Moderators

Casely
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:21 am

Using Geist and Midi Controller

Postby Casely » Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:47 pm

Is it possible to trigger pads in different engines using a midi controller?? When I click on any engine besides #1 my midi controller continues to trigger pads in engine #1 PLEASE HELP ASAP, I want to be able to do this for live use. Different sounds different engines...

I'm using macbook pro i7 / Logic 9/ Oxygen 8 and Geist 1.0.4.4 :x :evil: :(

Kickflip
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Postby Kickflip » Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:58 pm

Have a read through the manual for the details, but change the controller's pads to send data on MIDI Channel 9 to make them trigger the currently selected engine ;)
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32

Music
http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip

Circuit Bent Madness
http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

Casely
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:21 am

Postby Casely » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:04 pm

thank u, i've tried to find the geist manual online but can't seem to locate it... where can I read it?

stikygum
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:46 am

Postby stikygum » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:55 pm

On the right side you'll see it:

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=120

frenic
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:01 pm

Postby frenic » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:13 pm

Im having this problem.

I have trigger finger I have change the midi channel to 9 but it still does not work any other ideas?

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:13 pm

Channel 9 will trigger the currently selected Engine. Are you sure you're sending on channel 9? Are you in standalone mode or using as a plugin within a host?

ejsongs
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 6:45 pm

midi mapping??

Postby ejsongs » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:36 pm

Hi,

I want to be able to trigger multiple engines and spread my sounds over the range of my controller. I am aware of selecting midi channel 9 and such but what i am after is a continuos flow where geist automatically swtiches from engine to engine as i move up the keyboard range. I would love to have a template for example of 50 kicks that are spread out over the keyboard vs being limited to 16.

Is this possible without me manually having to select an engine?

ej

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Postby Rory_FX » Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:01 am

Ah, then it'll be MIDI channel 10 you want :)

(check page 10 of the manual for detailed MIDI spec)

daddi
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:54 pm
Contact:

Postby daddi » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:29 pm

does the trigger finger works good with geist? i'm about to get one...

kafka
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:47 pm

Postby kafka » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:11 pm

Haven't used the Trigger Finger, but I use the Akai MPD18, which is very similar. Yeah, a 4x4 trigger pad is a very good tool to use with Geist.

daddi
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:54 pm
Contact:

Postby daddi » Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:46 pm

just bought the trigger finger pro. the 4x4 pad is not enough, i think a good controller for geist must be able to switch midi channel easilly, the trigger finger does, some mpd too i think, i was torn between mpd32 and trigger finger pro, the second won at the end!

FluxMachina
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Postby FluxMachina » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:38 am

On the TFP I found out that you can assign 8 pads to switch engines by assigning them to individual midi cc#. It works ok of you want to avoid mouse clicking but it's probably easier to just change the midi channel in preferences.

daddi
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:54 pm
Contact:

Postby daddi » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:46 pm

yes you can assign a different midi channel to every single button on the FTP, and imho this makes it proper to geist, but i have not made enough experiments yet :)

FluxMachina
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Postby FluxMachina » Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:23 pm

daddi wrote:does the trigger finger works good with geist? i'm about to get one...

I made this video while checking this stuff out. I don't think I'd buy the Trigger Finger again in hindsight but am having a lot of fun with it thanks to Geist. The second video (when it gets done) will be more interesting as this one is more about setting the thing up prior to doing the actual mapping.

I deleted this video as it's too much like and advert for the Trigger Finger. Maudio aren't supporting it.
Last edited by FluxMachina on Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

daddi
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:54 pm
Contact:

Postby daddi » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:56 am

great job! i'm so curious for the second video!


edit:
i configured tfp sending midi notes through channel 16 and it's ok.
when i click with mouse the corresponding row on the sequencer is highlighted, but it does not happens with tfp pads... do you think is it possible?


Return to “Geist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron