Time Signatures - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Time Signatures

Support for Geist

Moderators: Drew_BFDTeam, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Moderators

BuleriaChk

Time Signatures

Postby BuleriaChk » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:29 pm

It just occurred to me that FXpansion may not know how to properly define and implement time signatures.

I hereby would like to offer free technical support to the Geist developers to educate them in the arcane concepts of time signatures so they can successfully implement in Geist, so that Geist can be used within a DAW or standalone to include rhythms such as are encountered in Dave Brubeck's "Blue Rondo a la Turk" and "Take Five".

Then on to exotic rhythms such as Karsilama and Zembekiko......

This will be my contribution to the world of musical humanity.
(I am a professional programmer, so will consult for free if it is too difficult for them.....)

Humbly,

"Flamenco Chuck" Keyser

wasoota

Postby wasoota » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:46 am

I sadly confirm your suspicion that Geist is tragically blind to the merits and values of time signatures (see another post a page back or so). Something that at least in my case is keeping me from using it to it's full potential. I also feel this is such a crippling omission that the term 'Feature Request' doesn't quite do it justice. Geist is flat out not usable except maybe as a drum rack where you need time signatures. And time signature is kind of the siamese twin of a beat. You may think you can just ignore him, but he's still there, always. :roll:

I commend you on your quest and humbly give you my blessing. For great justice!

(but seriously, this is a big deal.)

Drew_BFDTeam

Postby Drew_BFDTeam » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:01 am

Geist is a STEP SEQUENCER; inspired by such greats as the 808 and 909. I know, I know.. they're a bit niche, but we thought they implemented the whole step-sequence notion remarkably well! :P