Issue: Saving a preset does or does not prompt - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Issue: Saving a preset does or does not prompt

Support for Geist

Moderators: Drew_fx, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Moderators

CakeAlexS
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Issue: Saving a preset does or does not prompt

Postby CakeAlexS » Thu Oct 15, 2015 12:06 am

After I save a preset and then immediately quit, I'm often prompted saying changes will be lost? Why? I have made no changes.

I also noticed the opposite behaviour, I would change stuff, load another preset, and then it would not prompt so was not warned about losing changes. Why?

.. in Geist 1.1.3.4.

Many thanks...

Drew_fx
Posts: 3827
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_fx » Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:34 pm

I can reproduce the question - it asks every single time here for me. Seems to be a good safety feature??

I cannot reproduce it not showing up. Happens every time here. More details please.

CakeAlexS
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Postby CakeAlexS » Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:34 pm

Drew_fx wrote:I can reproduce the question - it asks every single time here for me. Seems to be a good safety feature??

I cannot reproduce it not showing up. Happens every time here. More details please.



No other software I know behaves this way, you make changes and you quit it prompt for saves, if you don't make changes it just quits. I think everybody would expect it to behave this way.

I'll double check but when it does not show up it's when loading a preset after making changes from memory.

Cheers..

CakeAlexS
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Postby CakeAlexS » Thu Oct 22, 2015 5:58 pm

Confirmed, if you make changes to a preset (double click), open another preset, it overwrites without prompting... Work lost...

IMHO if you make any changes and are about to overwrite them using a file (kits, patterns, engines, presets) you should be prompted that your works need saving. This confirmation behaviour could be overridden in preferences for each attribute.

Regardless telling me changes will be lost when there are no changes, I regard as a bug (misreporting).

Cheers..

CakeAlexS
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Postby CakeAlexS » Sun Nov 01, 2015 3:10 pm

Bumping.. Many thanks.


Return to “Geist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest