Demo Version of BFD3? - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Demo Version of BFD3?

Product Support for BFD3

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Demo Version of BFD3?

Postby davecmcgrath » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:40 pm

Hi

I would like to upgrade from BFD2 to BFD3 but would like to see a trial version first, any news on when we can see one?

regards

Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

Drew_BFDTeam
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_BFDTeam » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:43 pm

Don't hold a gun to my head over it, but I would estimate one or two weeks. We had a version in QA, but it failed and was not releasable.

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:45 pm

Drew_fx wrote:Don't hold a gun to my head over it, but I would estimate one or two weeks. We had a version in QA, but it failed and was not releasable.


Thanks Drew

looking forward to using BFD3 :D

Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:51 am

Hi Drew
Any news of demo version yet? I really need to try before I upgrade, it's been several weeks now and I really want to see if my system can handle the new version before I part with my money
thanks in advance
Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

jackn2mpu
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Sopranos State (NJ)

Postby jackn2mpu » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:24 pm

davecmcgrath wrote:Hi Drew
Any news of demo version yet? I really need to try before I upgrade, it's been several weeks now and I really want to see if my system can handle the new version before I part with my money
thanks in advance
Dave
Nothing yet on the demo front. Have you tried using either Blue Cat Audio MB7-2 or the new Patchworks from them to host BFD2 inside PT 11? If all you need is a single stereo out from BFD2 then either of these would be the way to go and certainly cheaper than VEPro (which isn't bad either but you need their dongle as it's not iLok) and easier than rewiring Reaper into PT. Been using MB7-2 with BFD2 inside PT 11.0.2 and it's been working out really well.
Jack
Pro Tools 2019.6
2012 Mac Pro cheesegrater, 3.46 GHz hex core cpu, 48 gig ram, OSX 10.13.6
BFD 3 and plenty more

Qapla

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:52 pm

Hi Jack
yes I have tried the demo versions of the Blue Cat plug Ins ( including the new patchwork and MB7) and very nice too, but I would rather wait to buy BFD3 than pay to host BFD2 and ECO, so as I already have reaper and set up multiple outs back into PT I can continue to rewire for now. Ideally I would like FXPansion to offer an AAX64 version of BFD2, even as a paid upgrade so I don't need to host inside sessions but I am realistic so will upgrade to BFD3 after I have given it a thorough testing :)
thx
Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:10 pm

Hi
still no sign of the BFD3 Demo :cry:
I would really like to see if BFD3 will work for me in Mavericks with Protools 11 and on my iMac and laptop before I pay for the upgrade. I love BFD2 and ECO and would be happy with an AAX64 version of those but my only option at present is using Reaper to rewire them in. There are no tutorial videos either for BFD3 on FXPansion so it looks like it's all gone quiet over at FX HQ.
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

jackn2mpu
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Sopranos State (NJ)

Postby jackn2mpu » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:28 pm

davecmcgrath wrote:Hi
still no sign of the BFD3 Demo :cry:
I would really like to see if BFD3 will work for me in Mavericks with Protools 11 and on my iMac and laptop before I pay for the upgrade. I love BFD2 and ECO and would be happy with an AAX64 version of those but my only option at present is using Reaper to rewire them in. There are no tutorial videos either for BFD3 on FXPansion so it looks like it's all gone quiet over at FX HQ.
If you have an all-access pass at Groove 3 they have BFD 3 Explained done by Eli Krantzberg. Even if you don't you can see a section or two the the video. Groove 3 breaks their video lessons down into multiple sections each covering a part of the subject. Don't know if they still have the half price deal going on at Groove 3.

I've watched the whole video lesson on BFD 3 and you get a real good look at it. I'm thankful I did catch it as it just confirmed my thoughts on upgrading - I won't be. Cymbal swell seems to miss the mark on crescendos/decrescendos/rolls (if that's what is was supposed to be) and tom resonance modeling seems to be nothing more than another type of bleed control.

As to it working in Mavericks PT 11.0.3 was an update rushed out the door for Mavericks compatibility. It was never supposed to see the light of day as there's a much more comprehensive PT 11 update coming.
Jack
Pro Tools 2019.6
2012 Mac Pro cheesegrater, 3.46 GHz hex core cpu, 48 gig ram, OSX 10.13.6
BFD 3 and plenty more

Qapla

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:39 pm

Thx Jack
I don't have a paid subscription to Groove 3, and it is $15 to get access to the BFD3 tutorials. I know they do great tutorials but as I don't have access to the product yet I can't get a sneak peak other than the review Russ did on Protools Expert site. The videos FXPansion have published for BFD2 and ECO were very helpful and a great resource, which is very useful when buying a product. It seems that this resource is lacking at present so I will have to wait. It really is important for me to test the software first and make sure it runs on my system smoothly.
regards
Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

jackn2mpu
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Sopranos State (NJ)

Postby jackn2mpu » Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:46 pm

davecmcgrath wrote:Thx Jack
I don't have a paid subscription to Groove 3, and it is $15 to get access to the BFD3 tutorials. I know they do great tutorials but as I don't have access to the product yet I can't get a sneak peak other than the review Russ did on Protools Expert site. The videos FXPansion have published for BFD2 and ECO were very helpful and a great resource, which is very useful when buying a product. It seems that this resource is lacking at present so I will have to wait. It really is important for me to test the software first and make sure it runs on my system smoothly.
regards
Dave
Actually you can view an introduction and overview of the interface at Groove 3 for BFD 3 for free. Russ at PTE does a pretty good job on his videos but one thing bothers me - he never really criticizes anything or points out annoyances that other reviewers would.

Agreed on testing out on your system, especially with it running Mavericks. I'm staying on ML 10.8.4 for now for PT as even OSX 10.8.5 has some issues with PT.
Jack
Pro Tools 2019.6
2012 Mac Pro cheesegrater, 3.46 GHz hex core cpu, 48 gig ram, OSX 10.13.6
BFD 3 and plenty more

Qapla

Drew_BFDTeam
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_BFDTeam » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

davecmcgrath wrote:Hi Drew
Any news of demo version yet? I really need to try before I upgrade, it's been several weeks now and I really want to see if my system can handle the new version before I part with my money
thanks in advance
Dave


I am bashing on a version right now. The last two in house versions were too crashy to release! No sense in having a demo that crashes!

User avatar
davecmcgrath
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 12:11 pm

Postby davecmcgrath » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:29 am

Thx Drew, looking forward to it.
Dave
iMac 3.00 Ghz 12 Gb RAM OSX Yosemite, BFD ECO, BFD2, BFD3, Protools PT11, MBox2, Dell Studio 15 laptop Intel Core2 Duo P8600(2.4 Ghz), 4Gb Ram, Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, Alesis DM10 drums , Roland SPD-S

jackn2mpu
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Sopranos State (NJ)

Postby jackn2mpu » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:42 am

Drew_fx wrote:
davecmcgrath wrote:Hi Drew
Any news of demo version yet? I really need to try before I upgrade, it's been several weeks now and I really want to see if my system can handle the new version before I part with my money
thanks in advance
Dave


I am bashing on a version right now. The last two in house versions were too crashy to release! No sense in having a demo that crashes!
True. But a reasonable person would ask if you can have a paying version that works, why not a demo version? Of course that depends on how it's crippled. Been demoing some plugin software in conjunction with Pro Tools that has a 14 day fully functional demo period.
Jack
Pro Tools 2019.6
2012 Mac Pro cheesegrater, 3.46 GHz hex core cpu, 48 gig ram, OSX 10.13.6
BFD 3 and plenty more

Qapla

User avatar
SKoT_FX
Promulgator of Beats
Posts: 2375
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:51 am
Location: FX Australia, Perth
Contact:

Postby SKoT_FX » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:55 am

...Because BFD3 Demo actually has its own set of reduced data to prepare, installers to test, and a suite of separate tests...
SKoT McDonald
CTO FXpansion]

jackn2mpu
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Sopranos State (NJ)

Postby jackn2mpu » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:11 pm

SKoT_FX wrote:...Because BFD3 Demo actually has its own set of reduced data to prepare, installers to test, and a suite of separate tests...
In other words it's not the same program as the paid BFD3 then. fxpansion could have bypassed some of this by having the data as a separate download in chunks like you did for BFD 2 and extension packages. Then all that would have had to be done would be to do a time limit cripple on the actual program as so many other companies do but otherwise leave it fully functional. Or disable saves which is another way to cripple a program demo.
Jack
Pro Tools 2019.6
2012 Mac Pro cheesegrater, 3.46 GHz hex core cpu, 48 gig ram, OSX 10.13.6
BFD 3 and plenty more

Qapla


Return to “BFD3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests