Tom articulations - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Tom articulations

Product Support for BFD3

Moderator: Moderators

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Tom articulations

Postby Fenderchris » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:20 pm

I've had BFD2 for some time but not used it recently so thought I would try to get back into it before considering updating to BFD3.

I use a Roland TD-20X kit most of the time and must admit I am struggling to get it working with BFD.

It seems that in BFD2 the Toms only have a single articulation (Hit) - I assume that the Hit will be velocity sensitive, but does this mean that there is no possibility of getting Rim sounds and sound variances depending on where on the head that a hit takes place (in the centre or near the edge)? (all things that the TD-20X provides).
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

Drew_BFDTeam
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_BFDTeam » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:09 pm

You are correct. At the time of release, BFD2 did not come with any rimshots or rim clicks. We have since added these to our standard articulations, so most packs now come with them. All of the BFD3 toms have them, as well as edge+bell+bow strikes for most cymbals.

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Fenderchris » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:43 pm

Thanks Drew for the quick reply. That's one good reason to upgrade to BDF3.

I'm currently getting no velocity differences on any of the kit pieces at the moment - everything plays at the same level. What am I missing?

Also, how can I get the snare sounds to sound more 'loose'?

Perhaps I should ask these questions in the BFD2 forum?
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

Drew_BFDTeam
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_BFDTeam » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:51 pm

Certainly more pertinent to BFD2, but check your incoming velocities... make sure you're not just sending in 127 all the time.

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Fenderchris » Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:18 pm

If I look at a midi part in my DAW (Nuendo) I can see that it is recorded with many different velocities and BFD does play that back at the different velocities, but if I play a part live on the Roland, going straight into BFD2 as the only audio source, everything sounds at the same velocity.

I have just downloaded and installed John Emrichs TD-20SX key map and trashed and rebuilt the databases, but no difference.
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Fenderchris » Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:28 pm

I don't think so.

I am using BFD2 as a plugin in my DAW

Whether I recorded a midi part five minutes ago from the Roland and then play it back, or if I play the Roland live and monitor the sound of BFD2 from within the same DAW, the Roland TD-20 is doing exactly the same thing - it is sending midi data to the DAW. By that token, the data being sent from the Roland will contain the the same variable velocity data in both cases.

Why then does BFD2 not respond to the variable velocity data in the same way, whether it is playing back extant midi data or receiving similar midi data 'live' from exactly the same e-drum module with exactly the same settings?
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

User avatar
SKoT_FX
Promulgator of Beats
Posts: 2375
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:51 am
Location: FX Australia, Perth
Contact:

Postby SKoT_FX » Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:16 am

Use the BFD2 MIDI Log window (There's a launch MIDI-log-button on the status bar at bottom of BFD2) to see what BFD2 is actually receiving....

BFD2 can't tell the difference between extant MIDI from a Nuendo track or incoming MIDI from the e-drum set - it's all just MIDI- so let's check that the MIDI is what we think it should be first. MIDI Log window is a great sanity preserving tool.

Tom rims are indeed nice to have; but it's the rim clicks that are my absolute fave new articulation in BFD3 - hitting the metal hoops with stick shank! Clicketty-clicketty-click paradiddles!
SKoT McDonald
CTO FXpansion]

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Fenderchris » Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:21 am

OK - I've been up all night, and I got lucky!

To get BFD2 to respond to different midi note velocities (whether from an extant midi part or when played live with an eDrum kit) Master Dynamics has to be turned all the way down AND Kit Piece Dynamics have to be turned all the way up. With any other settings the notes will not sound as played.

Very confusing.
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

john emrich
Righteous Drum Lord
Posts: 772
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:35 pm
Contact:

Postby john emrich » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:43 am

Please open BFD2 in stand alone.

What preset are you using? What drums in the preset? Turn off all effects.

Looking at the MIDI log, hit a drum softly. What is the MIDI velocity value of that strike?

The MIDI map that I made is only to line up the notes. You still need to do some work on the module. Most people play with the gain sensitivity set way to high....

John

BTW, the stock data for BFD2 plays differently compared to the expansion packs and new BFd3 data. Rim clicks and rim shots are on BFD3 and Yamaha and Sleishman expansion packs....

Fenderchris
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Fenderchris » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:41 pm

Hi John,

I think my problem in relation to the velocities is solved (see my post above yours).

Still can not get the hihats to work though.

chis
--
Nuendo 8.1.10 64-bit and Nuendo 10.2.0 64-bit, Windows-10 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.67Ghz, 24GB Ram, Roland V-Drum TD-20X, BFD2 64-bit, BFD3 64-bit.
RME UFX

M55ikael
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:51 am

Postby M55ikael » Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:23 am

I had this same problem. A reboot and some random tweaking mended it. I even reported it earlier today. The MIDI log in BFD3 was showing different velocities, but the drums would not respond with more than a single velocity. I could however tweak the one velocity I got with the manual controls, but it still wouldn´t give me more than one velocity at a time.

jimk
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:32 am

Postby jimk » Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:27 pm

I always wanted the TOM attics as well... one of the things that prevented me from using BFD2 for project work. In as much as I loved most of the features of BFD2, this one thing made BFD2 a novelty in my tool chest.

But, as noted, BFD3 new samples provide this feature (quite well, I might add), the only wish I have is that the drum packs from BFD2 have these artics added to the samples.... not sure if they were even sampled with these attics back when and if they weren't, I understand the difficulty of matching acoustics to real sample them, so, as an alternative, wouldn't it be great if FX went back and resampled the old drum kits from BFD2? Perhaps even offer an upgrade price for those who have the add-on kits for BFD2?

Just and idea.

Thanks,
Jim


Return to “BFD3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests