Forum

FXpansion Forum - Beta

Incompatible plug-ins thread

Support for the VST To RTAS Adapter

Moderators: Drew_fx, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Moderators

Angus_FX
Herder of Cats
Posts: 4130
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:00 pm
Location: FX HQ, London
Contact:

Incompatible plug-ins thread

Postby Angus_FX » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:15 pm

Hi,

We decided to start a thread listing plug-ins that are known to be, or believed to be, incompatible with the wrapper. Plug-ins should be assumed to be compatible unless proven otherwise.

If posting in this thread, please state Mac-PPC, Mac-Intel or PC, and your version and type of Pro Tools (e.g. 7.3 TDM). Note that the mods may edit this thread to keep the info concise, or to remove plug-ins from the list when they get fixed.

VST plug-ins that are not UniBin will not work on Mac-Intel, this is nothing to do with the wrapper and will not be documented further in this thread. It is your responsibility to check if a plugin is Unibin or not, just as it's your responsibility to check if it's a PC or Mac plug-in!


Windows
E-Mu Emulator X2 (incompatibility reported, awaiting confirmation from E-Mu tech support)

Mac-Intel
reFX Nexus (ui does not respond)\
reFX Vanguard (crashes when moving knobs)
QuikQuak Rayspace (as above)
The Sound Guy SFX Machine (frozen UI)
ABL2
CamelSpace
CamelPhat

Mac-PPC
reFX Nexus (not VST2.3 compatible?)
reFX Vanguard (crashes when moving knobs)
Camel Phat (as above)
Camel Space (as above)
XPhraze (as above)
Drumazon (crash on unload?)
Last edited by Angus_FX on Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
-- Angus F. Hewlett - CEO - FXpansion --
Twitter | YouTube
Synth Squad | BFD Eco

Aquarius
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:11 am

Postby Aquarius » Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:28 am

Drumazon 1.01 MacPPC + MicroTonic (Sonic Charge)

Crash log :

"

Date/Time: 2007-02-12 11:22:06.703 +0100
OS Version: 10.4.8 (Build 8L127)
Report Version: 4

Command: Pro Tools HD
Path: /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools HD.app/Contents/MacOS/Pro Tools HD
Parent: WindowServer [54]

Version: 7.3.1 (7.3.1f123)

PID: 309
Thread: 0

Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS (0x0001) at 0x742d5271

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x036c25d0 FicReportExternalEvent + 144048
1 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x036c2538 FicReportExternalEvent + 143896
2 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x037c33e0 FicSDSDispatchToken + 16
3 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b25808 CloseMachOPlugIn + 79548
4 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b2c36c CloseMachOPlugIn + 107040
5 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b17f58 CloseMachOPlugIn + 24076
6 com.d16group.drumazon 0x31d09f34 dyld_stub_FSMakeFSSpec + 835288180
7 com.d16group.drumazon 0x31d11b30 main_macho + 27808
8 com.d16group.drumazon 0x31d2d3a4 main_macho + 140564
9 com.d16group.drumazon 0x31d0b20c main_macho + 892
10 com.d16group.drumazon 0x31d0ac84 dyld_stub_FSMakeFSSpec + 835291588
11 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b17cb4 CloseMachOPlugIn + 23400
12 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b18744 CloseMachOPlugIn + 26104
13 ...fxpansion.vst2rtas.Drumazon 0x31b18404 CloseMachOPlugIn + 25272
14 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93204554 DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 692
15 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93203cac SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 372
16 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x9320aa60 SendEventToEventTarget + 40
17 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x9330b2bc SendEventFromMouseDown + 156

(Crash log trimmed by moderator)

rossf
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:26 pm

Postby rossf » Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:27 pm

SR-202 PT LE 7.1 Mac PPC
sometimes when trying to load a patch, sometimes trying to preview a sound. Other times it works fine.
[edit] After a bit of experimentation it looks as if using Safari before using the plugin somehow interferes with the SR-202 interface, causing it to crash Pro Tools.[/edit]

crash log:
Date/Time: 2007-02-14 21:04:48.582 +0000
OS Version: 10.4.8 (Build 8L127)
Report Version: 4
Version: 7.1 (7.1f60)

PID: 275
Thread: 0

Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS (0x0001) at 0xfefeff3e

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x02193954 0x2008000 + 1620308
1 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x0204fa54 FicSerialPortCall + 15092
2 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x020414c8 FicSDSDispatchToken + 24
3 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc25808 CloseMachOPlugIn + 79548
4 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc2c36c CloseMachOPlugIn + 107040
5 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc17f58 CloseMachOPlugIn + 24076
6 SR202 0x0ff031fc AudioEffectX::beginEdit(long) + 72
7 SR202 0x0ff580b4 CKickButton::mouse(CDrawContext*, CPoint&) + 108
8 SR202 0x0ff5f880 AEffGUIEditor::mouse(long, long) + 96
9 SR202 0x0ff0157c AudioEffect::dispatcher(long, long, long, void*, float) + 748
10 SR202 0x0ff024cc AudioEffectX::dispatcher(long, long, long, void*, float) + 1396
11 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc17cb4 CloseMachOPlugIn + 23400
12 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc18744 CloseMachOPlugIn + 26104
13 com.fxpansion.vst2rtas.SR202 0x0fc18404 CloseMachOPlugIn + 25272
14 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93207554 DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 692
15 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93206cac SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 372

cheakypawl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: London

CamelPhat/CamelSpace

Postby cheakypawl » Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:38 am

I've got the most up to date versions of these and they do crash now and again. (restarting on the intel is not a problem as its so fast) But i find , as with the PSPaudioware stuff you should do this to avoid crashes...
when you initiate a camel plug, it appears. Don't use it yet. Click on the highlighted insert name to make it disappear and then hit save and then click on the insert. It appears to help with the crashes. I use it a lot.
MacBook Pro/10.4.8/PT LE/PT MP 7.3.1cs2/VST2RTAS 2.1

debolish
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:03 am

Postby debolish » Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:55 am

There are definite issues between PT 7.3 and the VST-RTAS wrapper. Having issues with CamelPhat, CamelSpace, Vanguard and ABL2 - just to name a few. All is well until I tweak a knob on the plug-in GUI... then BAM - the old "PT has unexpectedly quit" dialog. Hopefully FX will have a fix for this soon.
Mac Pro 2x2GHz • 4GB • OSX 10.4.8 • PTLE 7.3.1cs2 • Digi 002R

whitecat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:05 pm

Postby whitecat » Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:41 pm

Having trouble with these - I've done a search and can't find further info, so any ideas would be helpful. Not sure if the problem lies with the adapter or the plug-ins, but they are all UB:

Audio Damage - Reverence and FuzzPlus 2 - both wrap, but don't show up in PTLE
BIAS - the (very) new Master Perfection Suite 1.1 VST UBs - they wrap fine as well but crash Pro Tools after a DAE -7401 error.

UPDATE: BIAS writes to me: "We don't recommend you run those plugins with the wrapper. They are not intended to work that way." So I guess those ones are no go.

Any ideas on the Audio Damage plug-ins?

PTLE 7.3.1cs2, OSX 10.4.8, 2GB RAM, Macbook Core Duo 2.0GHz

steve_crouch
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:40 pm

Postby steve_crouch » Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:16 pm

I'm using PT 7.3.1 and have had a lot of issues with wrapped plugins crashing. They wrap fine, load fine, and work fine until you want to change anything. Issues so far have been wity Crystal synth and DX Reverb Light. I've only tried a few VST plugins so far so it might be isolated to a few.

whitecat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:05 pm

an update, and another question

Postby whitecat » Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:53 pm

OK, removing the Audio Damage stuff and re-wrapping actually seemed to fix them, although I swore I tried that once already.

Anyway, Focusrite has posted a new build of their Saffire plug-ins, which all used to wrap fine. I've installed the new ones, however, and suddenly the Compressor no longer wraps.

Will update if I hear anything from Focusrite, but if anyone has any ideas in the meantime please post! Thanks!

dj fade
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 2:02 am

urs compressors

Postby dj fade » Sat May 19, 2007 2:04 am

i can't get the urs compressors to work on my system. it shows up that they're 'wrapped', but they won't show up in pro tools.

i'm on windows xp pro, ptle v 7.3 and vst2rtas v 2.1

whitecat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:05 pm

Re: an update, and another question

Postby whitecat » Sat May 19, 2007 10:57 am

terminal3 wrote:OK, removing the Audio Damage stuff and re-wrapping actually seemed to fix them, although I swore I tried that once already.

Anyway, Focusrite has posted a new build of their Saffire plug-ins, which all used to wrap fine. I've installed the new ones, however, and suddenly the Compressor no longer wraps.

Will update if I hear anything from Focusrite, but if anyone has any ideas in the meantime please post! Thanks!


Focusrite stuff fixed with 2.2fc3 builds of the plug-ins for Mac. It all wraps fine now.

Simon666
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:13 am

Postby Simon666 » Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:23 am

UB versions of CM Zebra and Triple Cheese do not work on PT 7.1 LE Mac Intel machines.
GUIs are "frozen" , i.e. knobs, faders do not respond and presets will not load.

PPC versions working fine on PT 7.1 LE on PPC machine.

dj fade
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 2:02 am

Postby dj fade » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:10 pm

also noticed altiverb will wrap, but freezes pro tools everytime i try to load it as an insert. anyone else had issues with altiverb?

scottedog
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:37 pm

Postby scottedog » Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:43 am

Jamstix 2 looks like it wraps ok (wrap=YES, not greyed out) but it crashes PT LE 7.3cs4 (at least on my system).

JS1 wraps alright (useable anyway).

Edit: JS 2.0.4 wraps ok. FIXED! :)

maitredebas
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:04 pm

Vocal magic

Postby maitredebas » Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:23 pm

Having trouble with RSO's 'vocal magic', sometimes it will load, sometimes it won't. Most of the time it crashes pro tools 7.3. Funny thing is RSO's 'extreme punch' works great?!?

Angus_FX
Herder of Cats
Posts: 4130
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:00 pm
Location: FX HQ, London
Contact:

Postby Angus_FX » Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:54 pm

I don't know RSO.. what's their URL? also are you on mac or pc?
-- Angus F. Hewlett - CEO - FXpansion --

Twitter | YouTube

Synth Squad | BFD Eco


Return to “VST To RTAS Adapter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests