Forum

FXpansion Forum - Beta

Kit Pieces Missing

Support for BFD2 Acoustic Drum Workstation

Moderators: Drew_fx, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Moderators

efflux
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:16 pm

Kit Pieces Missing

Postby efflux » Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:46 pm

I had to reinstall BFD2 on a Macbook due to a drive failure. Kit pieces are missing despite the fact that I definitely went through the install process correctly. I have tried the trash and rebuild databases but that doesn't work.

bashmentality
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby bashmentality » Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:37 pm

Can you locate the corresponding samples on your harddrive?
The four most important plug-ins for music production:
VSTtalent v6.7
VSTexperience v2.5
VSTknowlege v8.3
VSTgoldenears v4.1
;-)

efflux
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:16 pm

Postby efflux » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:07 pm

It looks like folders are missing to me. However, I was very careful to do this right because installing BFD2 has been a nightmare every time I have done it. It has always gone wrong.

Platinum Samples
Posts: 4919
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Postby Platinum Samples » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:33 pm

Did you install from DVD's or the download audio content?

If from the DVD's...

1) Install DVD 1, do not accept the prompt to download the latest version

2) Install the rest of the DVD's

3) Run the Audio Patch (v2.2.2)

4) Download and install BFD2 2.3.0.38

If pieces still appear to be missing:

a) Make sure the data path(s) are correct in your BFD2 Data preferences

b) Trash & Rebuild All Databases in your BFD2 Data preferences

Rail
•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Image

efflux
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:16 pm

Postby efflux » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:48 pm

I did all of that. It looks to me like stuff simply hasn't been installed from the DVDs but I went through it carefully because BFD2 gave me problem the last time I installed it.

Is there anywhere I can see the exact structure of folders and files I should have? This would then immediately tell me if anything is missing.

Platinum Samples
Posts: 4919
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Postby Platinum Samples » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:53 pm

If you suspect that something wasn't installed check the .log file created by the installer - it will list if there were any DVD read errors and if anything wasn't installed. If a high percentage of data could not be installed you should have received an error message.

Rail
•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Image

efflux
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:16 pm

Postby efflux » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:05 pm

Where are the log files? I didn't get any error messages. I'm now seeing totally messed up pictures in the kit page for some of the kit pieces. These are for ones that have loaded.

Platinum Samples
Posts: 4919
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Postby Platinum Samples » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:14 pm

On a Mac on your system drive...

\Library\Logs

Are you running BFD2 2.3.0.38 Standalone? If so 32 or 64 bit?

Have you Trashed & Rebuilt the Databases?

Post a screen shot of your BFD2 Data prefs page.

Rail
•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Image

efflux
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:16 pm

Postby efflux » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:45 pm

I went through the installation process again. Things appear to be working now as far as the main kits are concerned. I also have BOMB. There are data files for BOMB kits that are in the same BFD2 folder where the audio files are installed to but BFD2 does not find those. Why are they there whereas the other data files for kits are in my main system drive and not my BFD2 drive? There just doesn't seem to be any logic here. I regard BFD2 as a disastrous install. It went wrong the last time I installed as well. It's typical of most proprietary software and reminds me of why the rest of my set up is now on Linux.

Platinum Samples
Posts: 4919
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Postby Platinum Samples » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:55 pm

The original BOMB installer is for BFD1 data paths... Did you use the newer downloadable installer?

If you used the BOMB BFD1 data installer then you should have installed to a separate data path than to your BFD2 data.

\BFD2

and

\BOMB\BFD

would be my recommendation

in the \BFD2 folder there should only be 2 folders...

\BFD2\Audio and \BFD2\Grooves

Rail
•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Image


Return to “BFD2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests