Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2? - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2?

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

KhalilG
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:23 pm

Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2?

Postby KhalilG » Tue Dec 13, 2016 5:48 am

I've been using Geist for a few years now & overall it's been great for most of my Hip-Hop and R&B beats. Recently I've been trying to expand my genres and have noticed that Geist is not nearly as friendly when it comes to switching between different lengths (1/16 triplets, 1/32, etc) within a pattern. Yes, I've tried the repeat & shift graphs, however it's takes much more time to create trap style snare rolls & hihat patterns using the graphs vs using the sequencer in FlStudio or Reason. To get the sound & rhythm I'm looking for I'd have to use separate engines with different length settings & that is a real pain and less than intuitive. This is one of the major reasons I haven't upgraded to Geist2. Are there any other hip-hop beatmakers/producers who have encountered this problem? If enough of us speak up maybe Fxpansion will actually listen & implement individual length options for each of the pads or the ability to switch length's within a pattern.
Last edited by KhalilG on Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ivochkin
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:29 am

Re: Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2?

Postby Ivochkin » Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:19 pm

No problems creating trap here.

seige313
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:54 am

Re: Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2?

Postby seige313 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:31 am

Ive actually or a lot of us has actually tried to get the makers of Geist to improve the step sequencer allowing us to switch between different divisions without having to use convert timing which is a hassle .. Your best bet is to use a different engine and make that your triplet section. You have to switch between engines but it can be done.. its just a pain..

KhalilG wrote:I've been using Geist for a few years now & overall it's been great for most of my Hip-Hop and R&B beats. Recently I've been trying to expand my genres and have noticed that Geist is not nearly as friendly when it comes to switching between different lengths (1/16, 1/32, etc) within a pattern. Yes, I've tried the repeat & shift graphs, however it's takes much more time to create trap style snare rolls & hihat patterns using the graphs vs using the sequencer in FlStudio or Reason. To get the sound & rhythm I'm looking for I'd have to use separate engines with different length settings & that is a real pain and less than intuitive. This is one of the major reasons I haven't upgraded to Geist2. Are there any other hip-hop beatmakers/producers who have encountered this problem? If enough of us speak up maybe Fxpansion will actually listen & implement individual length options for each of the pads or the ability to switch length's within a pattern.

jesussaddle
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:51 am

Re: Is Anyone Making Trap Music in Geist2?

Postby jesussaddle » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:24 pm

I've come to use Geist 2 more as an integrated beat production sampler. Once I have a set BPM for my project, I can sample various things and incorporate them into my Geist 2 flow, which may be to use Song Mode, etc. For this kind of thing I might use the FL piano roll, or I might use Breaktweakers and sample it with Geist 2.. I know, its a shame not to have one single tool; and its hugely expensive. I'm lucky to have a cot with a single army blanket.


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests